Book Review

You by Caroline Kepnes | Scary Stalker Guy Captures My Heart (what?)

Yes, it’s true.  The creepy stalker guy who is our main character – Joe Goldberg – I’m totally on his side.  I’m over here like, “oh, you wanna steal this girls phone and read her email every single day because she refuses to text? That’s not ok… BUT YEAH LET’S DO IT I FIND EVERYTHING YOU THINK AND DO VERY INTRIGUING.”

dont-be-creepy-gif

That being said, I’m not advocating stalking.  Stalking someone is not okay.  Ever.

No I’m not referring to stalking someone on social media.  Unless you stalk someone on social media to find them irl.  Ok this is getting complicated I must move on.  be good people.

HOWEVER

I was rooting for Joe.  This story is cleverly written in second person point of view making it even easier for us to relate to the charming weirdo that works at a book store in NYC who is extremely well read and radiating wit and sarcasm.  He was disgusting and lyrical all at the same time.

If you watched and enjoyed Dexter, prepare yourself for round 2.  You must read this now.  Actually, you should have read it yesterday, why are you still here?  GO NOW. BE FREE FROM THE SHACKLES CHAINED TO THE WALL THAT ARE THE INTERNET.

In fact, this book is also fantastic as an audiobook.  I usually don’t like audiobooks because it’s hard for me to get used to the voice of the narrator.  It’s narrated by Santino Fontana (from Frozen), and his mellow voice just makes it feel even more like Joe is totally justified and isn’t totally crazy… YOU’re crazy.  (get it?)

TOP-NOTCH BITS

The mix of pop culture references and literary references made me so happy.  When Beck and Joe went to IKEA, Joe’s internal monologue about 500 Days of Summer is everything I think of when I’m at IKEA (meh) or pondering its existence (much better).  I just want an experience like Tom Hanson’s and Summer Finn’s.  I want 18 sinks.

500-days-ikea-gif

Joe does a bunch of bad things, but he doesn’t immediately justify them as okay and totally fine.  He knows that was he’s doing is wrong.  I don’t know why this was important to me, but I appreciated the fact that he wasn’t glorifying stalking.

I TRIED TO TEXT A FRIEND AFTER I FINISHED THIS BY CLICKING THE EMAIL APP ON MY COMPUTER.  WHY.  This book was stuck in my head, is still stuck in my head.  I haven’t wanted to reread something so soon after finishing it for the first time.  I devoured it.

Joe’s reactions to Ethan’s overwhelming happiness made me giggle to myself.  We all know that feeling.

THE MUG.  DON’T LEAVE THAT OH MY GOD WHAT ARE YOU THINKING.

NOT AS WONDERFUL BITS

Benji and Peach.  I wanted to punch them in the face with the hand of realism so many times.  They were just so annoying (as they were supposed to be) that I could only empathize with Joe’s hatred of them even more.  Flipping home soda.  I can’t look at club soda without thinking about Benji’s faux-cool-hipster-guy facade.  Bah.

That being said, they were fun to hate.

DR. NICKY.  STOP BEING AN UNLOVABLE CREEP.  GO HOME TO YOUR WIFE THANK YOU. You’re not even a real doctor.  Don’t take advantage of people.  Thanks.

anyway-gif

Overall I loved this book.  This is my favorite book I’ve read this year so far.  I needed it.

 

When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he20821614does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.

There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.

5-star

You on Goodreads 

 google7ff2fa5a51c3d051.html

TELL ME WHAT YOU THINK.

Do you now find yourself questioning your moral character because you love a creep?  Did you absolutely hate Joe?  WHAT ABOUT THE MUG? WHAT DO WE DO WITH THE MUG???? Tell me in the comments below!

 

4 thoughts on “You by Caroline Kepnes | Scary Stalker Guy Captures My Heart (what?)

  1. I tried to read this book but it’s one of the few I couldn’t get through.😂 Which is weird because generally I LOVE creepy books and morally grey characters and exploring the psychology of messed up plots like this. It’s so intriguing, right??! Maybe I’ll give it another go! It was a few years ago that I tried so maybe I’d be more ready for it now hehhe. I’m glad you enjoyed it.!

    Like

    1. Honestly, books like this put me off for a VERY long time. I just couldn’t see the appeal of being inside a psychopath’s head! That all changed when it became something relevant in my personal life. I REALLY just wanted to understand, even if it was fiction, what the heck was going on inside these people’s heads. And yes, plots like this almost hook me immediately!

      That being said, try the audiobook! The narrator’s voice is very like, friendly sounding? Like what he really does think is justified?? WHICH OBVIOUSLY IT’S NOT lol. If you do give it a shot, let me know what you think! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment